What goes in must come out!

Hi all, first post on runner's world. I have been running for about 6 months and have just entered my first half marathon. I am sorry to lower the tone with my first post but I was wondering if most races have toilets along the route (just in case). It has never been an issue but nearly got caught out yesterday, I think the passing motorists must Have thought I was from the ministry of funny runs! I don't want to load up on carbs the day before and then find myself looking for dock leaves during the race. Sorry again.

Comments

• Stevie  GStevie G ✭✭✭✭

most races no.

huge races, sometimes.

All about working out exactly what works for you.

Personally after years of trying out what works for me, i follow the below

Race Day/Hard runs

• No eating 3 hours before
    • no diary
    • weetabix/toast 3hours before, so if anything you feel a little hungry as you start

Other things to be careful of

fruit (except for bananas)
    coffee
    lucozade

I can tell you from bitter experience, that any combo of fruit, lucozade, skimmed milk and pasta too soon before a run = destroyed countryside.

• Really? I have kept a diary for years and no idea it had that affect
  • I Don't tend to eat before my morrning run so I was surprised to get caught out. The thought of a lucozade / coffee / milk combo sounds positively explosive, how much do you eat the day before ?

• Stevie  GStevie G ✭✭✭✭

Sussex, how about a diary of dairy?

Galactic, basically something like a cooked meat/veg meal in the evening with possible beans on toast later, but in the day reasonably light, rice, banana, energy bar, peppermint tea and oat cakes.

And that's on average 10miles a day running over 2 runs. ( 1 rest day)

i can recommend drinking a hot water early morning. Clear that system out image