Total beginner, started jogging 13th September

I am a complete beginner, 26 y/o female. I've always been a healthy weight but recently I put on a lot of weight and am now around 12lbs too heavy, although have been gradually losing, was 23lbs too heavy at the worst time.

I started doing jogging, walking, jogging over a 3km distance every other day and found that in 5/6 training sessions I could pretty much jog the whole distance. Then I got sick and missed 2 training sessions, just went for a jog and found that I am almost back to square 1! 

Is this normal? I find jogging really hard because of my build and the extra weight but I had been really getting into it. I was hoping over the next 4/5 months or so to build up to a 5km run in 25mins. Is this even possible or am I being too ambitious?

Any advice would be really appreciated.  

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

Have a look at the couch to 5k programs that are 6 to 8 week guides for getting up to 5k distance.  I've seen one on the cool running web site that fits the bill, but there are others available

Once you can run 5k, you can then set a target for a time you want to achieve. 

• I'd say that it is normal to feel like you are back at square one, in the circumstances you describe.  But you won't be.  Just go back to jog-walking, and you'll soon be back to jogging all the way.

As for getting to a 25 minute 5km in 4-5 months...  that's quite ambitious for someone who feels that their weight/build make jogging a bit awkward.

But it's not impossible. Different things motivate different people, but I think you should set some intermediate targets down.  You'll need to adjust (individualise) the actual numbers/dates here, but the milestones might look something like this:-

End of October - get confidence that you can jog non-stop for six km.

End Nov -  get to 5km in (say) 32 minutes

Dec - 30 mins

Jan - 28m  then re-evaluate your targets.