So I pulled on my trainers... and ran!

Hello all! I'm a self confessed fitnessphobe, and a complete newbie here. I detest gyms and have let many a membership go to waste... but something very strange happened yesterday. I'd just got back from visiting family in Scotland and felt decidedly overweight... so I got up, pulled on my trainers, and went for a run.

Now, after I pulled my wheezing carcas back into my flat and called up my friend to tell him what I'd done... he immediately thought something was wrong with me, and was very concerned for my well being.

I ran around 0.7 miles in about 8 minutes... but it felt like an eternity. After some research on here and other places I'm going to start the C25K program today (well... tonight... when it's good and dark, I am NOT okay with people seeing me run just yet!) and just wanted to introduce myself incase theres any other complete novices around here in the same boat as me, for the whole mutual support lets-not-be-stationary-creatures-forever type thing! image

Dave

Comments

• Not a novice, but just wanted to say well done and good luck. You might be surprised how quickly you get better and faster, but the best advice is always to increase your distances and/or intensities in small increments. Take it easy, in other words. Doing too much too soon will damage your motivation and might damage your body. All the best.

• Thank you! That's why I think the C25K program will be good for me, it looks like a nice gentle start and I can always repeat earlier weeks if my body is not enjoying the transition! image