12 medals, 12 months

Hi ladies and gents,

After recently completing my first half marathon (Bham), I have decided to set myself a little personal challenge for the coming year, to A) keep me in my running shoes B) raise a few quid for a chairty close to my heart and C) I think it would be jolly good crack.

So I have decided to try to get 12 medals in 12 months (yes, I know it is no Eddie Izzard sketch, but a good aim for me I think). Given that I am a bit of a novice who is curently at half marathon training level, these would obviously not be 12 halfs or anything too ridiculous - it would be great if I could get a mix of halfs, 10k's 5k's etc. I would like to do as many road races as possible as not keen on moving to multi-terrain and the likes just yet though open to ideas.

Here is what I have in mind so far. As you can see, I am missing a few months (aiming for 1 per month), so if you have any suggestions to fill the gaps I would greatly appreciate it. Struggling with Winter and Summer...I am new to finding races and am looking at runningbug but if anyone can suggest any other good websites that list UK wide races that would be great (of course I am looking on here too). Dont want to go past 1/2 mara for this challenge.

I am based in Birmingham and fine to travel within reason, will travel further for bigger/better races. I go to Manchester a lot too so happy to travel there.

November - 24th - Manchester Mo Run 10k

December - ?

January - ?

February - 17th - Barcelona 1/2 Marathon (used to live here, so have to do this!)

March - 17th - Reading 1/2 Marathon

April - ?

May - 26th - BUPA Great Manchester Run 10K

June - 2nd - West Midlands Fun Run - 10K

July - ?

August - ?

September - 15th BUPA Great North Run

October - 20th BUPA Birmingham Half Marathon

In Spring 2014 I would like to complete a Marathon, but that wouldn't be part of my 12 months of course.

Ideally looking for races where medals are available, but happy to make my own if need beimage