Target: London Marathon 2013

Hi, thanks for looking at my thread. This is my story......

I'm a beginner. what I mean by that, is that I don't really run. I used to hate it when football training but now that I don't play that anymore, I have never felt like going out on the road for miles on end, just running. Until, my wife had an ectopic pregnancy earlier in the year and it was all a bit of a shock. Not only because of what happened but I suddenly found myself putting on an old pair of trainers and going out for a run. I did 10k! once I'd got over the shock of that, I was going out more and more. Before I knew it i was going out 3 times a week. It helped me get over it and put what had happened to my wife to the back of my mind and not think about anything. 

I was reading from the ectopic pregnancy trust website also, which answered a load of my questions. and helped my wife and I come to terms with what had happened. I then thought about raising some money for them. They had helped me, so I thought I could help them.

But now...

I don't really know what I've let myself in for. I've signed up for the London Marathon next year.  As I said, I'm a beginner. I know nothing about running or anything, other than I have a good pair of trainers now, I lace them up and I go out for a while. I am reading lots of threads and messages and things on the net. Which I have found to be a great help. If a litlle confusing!!

I've started a plan of running 3-4 times a week. Gradually, increasing my distance up to the event itself. I want to finish, time, I have found to be unimportant (yeah right! my work colleagues would love me to a, not finish or b, get a poor time!) so I'd like to get under 4 hours. But that seems like such a long time to run at the moment.

The aim of this thread is to keep me going. If I write a diary type thing then it's added pressure and incentive for me to get off my arse and get out there, like sooo many of you do, every day.