First bike tips

It's nearly time to buy my first bike, so looking for some tips.

A bit about myself so you know where I'm at: I'm 31, been running and swimming for the last couple of months with the intention of doing a few triathlons next year (prob a sprint in spring and oly in summer). I was already pretty fit coming into this training schedule, and have had previous running and mountain biking experience, albeit 10 years ago and not particularly serious (also, never been on a road bike). So basically, I'm new to triathlon but not coming in totally from scratch, picked up running and swimming fairly quickly again and expect the same on the bike.

My plan atm is to buy an entry level road bike, so probably looking at around £500-600, with an extra £200-ish on accessories (helmet, shoes & pedals, toolkit etc). So here are my questions:

- Will I actually notice any difference between the bikes I'm looking at in my price range, or is it basically irrelevant which one I choose at that price?

- If I could increase my bike budget to say £1k, what would I get for my extra £500 and would it be worth it?

- Unless you're at an elite level, is the quality of the bike actually important or is it really all about the rider?

Any other tips appreciated, thanks.

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

A £1000 bike will be significanlty better than a £500 bike, and a £1500 bike will be noticeably better than a £1000 bike.  Above £1500 you are probably getting into the area of marginal improvements.

Main difference will be the quality of wheels (important as they are the rolling mass) and the ride quality of the frame.  Durability also improves as the price increases - but this may not be too important depending on how much cycling you want to do.