Overweight, never ran a day in my life, kinda new to all this... Need advice.

Hi everyone... Well, how do I go about this? I'm Kris. I'm 18 and I live in the County Durham area. I've decided I want to start running properly, for the first time. I'm absolute beginner, with no running experience at all. (I haven't even been for my first run yet.)

I'm about 5'11" and a couple of stone overweight. I have a very wide or "stocky" build. One of my problems is that I suffer from asthma; usually brought on by exercise, but if I have my inhaler I don't see why this should stop me exercising.

As much as I want to lose weight, at the same time, it isn't weight loss I want to run for specifically. I know weight loss is going to be, say, a by-product of it (if I also watch what I eat, which I've started today) however generally I want to run so I can feel a bit more healthy, and energetic. I've read running increases serotonin levels, and makes you feel better within yourself. This is what I am definitely aiming for, as I suffer from mild depression, and I have virtually no self confidence.

I know there are plenty of threads on here with advice, but which one would be best for an absolute, full beginner such as myself, and is there any knowledge you can share with me?

Thank you for reading. image

-ThatOldskoolKid

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

Hi there, congratulations on taking the first positive steps.

Have a look at the C25k (Couch to 5k) threads on the forum to get you started, and look at maybe following one of these plans.

• Kid I would just wander round the threads and see what tickles your fancy. Some threads are quite serious while other's take the p*ss a lot. The is a running with mental hearth thread on here with people on it who have depresion and other issue's if you want to take a look at it. What a lot of is do is talk carp in the club house and then try to ast all serious err well sometimes on the other threads.