Running and weight loss advice please

Hi, I'm new to running and have been following the C25k program for nearly 4 weeks and enjoying it.  I'm just finding my way around this website so if there is a thread about this elsewhere I do apologise.  I'm looking to increase my fitness and loose weight with my new found running program and need a little advice.  What sort of food should I be eating?  There are so many protein products on the market ie shakes,choc bars and was wondering if these help in anyway or should I just stick to eating good healthy food ie fruit and veg.  Any help/advice would be very much appreciated.

Comments

• Stick to good healthy food.

In my opinion, you don't need to be thinking about dedicated nutrition until your mileages are up into the teens of miles.

I've heard people laughing at beginners who do 5 minutes on a treadmill (burning perhaps 40 calories)... then sucking on sports drink with about 200 calories in it!   That might be unfair because we're all the victims of "good" marketing.

Running is great for health, but no exercise (in itself) is particularly great for weight-loss. Running is one of the best though...  but weight-loss is all about what you eat (perhaps until you get to running for more than an hour at a time)

• I'd agree with that.  I've just finished C25k and have lost just over a stone through running and just using a decent calorie counter app (I've used MyFitnessPal) - eating 1200 calories a day and then eating half of the calories that I've burned through exercise on the top of the 1200 allowance seems to have done the trick image