How rigid are you with a marathon training plan?

I've been running for about 18 months, starting from a really low fitness base (was a heavy smoker and an active alcoholic) and have recently ran 20 miles, mostly off road too - with lots of hills.

I've got a road marathon in January, but I'm just no good at following my training plan.  I tend to do more mileage than what's required, and do little or no speed work, though I do a lot of hills (you can't avoid them around here), and I've heard hill work is speed work in disguise.

My weekly mileage varies from 25 miles per week to 50 miles per week; I tend to have two weeks of high mileage then drop it for a recovery week.  Weekend long runs vary from 12 miles to 15 miles, with the 20 miles I ran by accident (we got lost), but I still felt fairly comfortable and recovered quickish (I was fine after a rest week with low mileage).

So, my question is, for my first marathon in January (just under 3 months away), would I be okay to continue as I'm going?  This weekend - for example - I've got a 20 km cross country race (lots of climb), and then the following weekend I plan to do 17 miles, followed by a 20 miler the next weekend (total weekly mileage about 40 - 50 miles), followed by a rest week.  Maybe do about 3 or 4 20 milers with one 24 mile run before the marathon and taper.

I enjoy the long slow stuff, I'm quite happy to walk up steep inclines in my long runs, and rest if I get niggles.  I would like to run a sub 4.30 marathon (secretly under 4 hrs), but that's not that important; I just want to get around one.

Now, am I being daft training the way I'm training?  Or should I stick rigidly(ish) to a Hal Higdon training program?

Comments

• That seems like a lot of milage for a 4.30 time ?  Have you run any half marathons to give an indication of your likely race time ?