Running and pushing a wheelchair

Hi Next year I will be running both a half and full marathon while pushing my uncle in his wheelchair. He previously has run 36 marathons but late last year was diagnosed with Motor Neurons Disease. He can't run anymore, but with me he can still race! He's 62 and average build. I'd value any tips and insights into training for racing with a wheelchair. We live 150 miles away from each other so I won't get to practice with him before the half marathon in Feb which is a trial run for the full marathon in April. So far I'm thinking: 1. Run with a pushchair (we have 3 kids) once a week, with a child in it 2. Get some structure gloves (like weight lifters) to protect hands 3. Do more hill work for quads and glutes Anybody had experience of this? Thank you for any useful comments...

Comments

• Sorry I have no experience or anything to help your question but just wanted to show my admiration for you. I think I read your tweet about your challenge a little while ago...Brighton marathon??

Good luck and I hope some people have some good advice.
  • BB ✭✭✭
    Hi cj, Mick is the person you need to speak to. He does loads of races pushing his adult son Phil. Not sure if he posts on here anymore, he does post on FetchEveryone. But he has a website micknphil-marathonlad.com and there is a contact on there. He is very generous with his advice and support to other runners so I am sure he would be happy to give you some advice

Good luck image
  • Thanks gemgemx - yes it is Brighton, as that's near where my uncle lives. Your words are very kind. I'm daunted but hopefully I can help create the very best experience for him.

Thank you B - I have emailed Mick this morning as he is local to me, so I hope he will be able to spare a little time to help me on my learning curve.

Will be blogging from the new year about it to help tell the story...