Heavy runners - how fast are you?

I'm fairly new to running, been training on and off for just over 6 months. Every runner I know is 3-4 stone lighter than me so it's hard to compare times - I'm 6'3", 16st7 and am curious as to what times people heavier than say 15st are getting??

My average times for 5k, 10k and 10m are 25min, 55min and 95min respectively..

How does this compare with your average heavy runner? (with a few months running under their belt) Anyone else out there?  

Comments

• TownerTowner ✭✭✭

id say they are perfectly respectable times whatever your size mate, i know some very small people who would love those times.

• At 6'3 your not that large @ 16st 7 and you dont say if thats all muscle or Fat, plenty of Rugby players are bigger 

I am 5'9 and 10 weeks ago I was 15st 3!!. currently 14st 2 after training for Chester and Liverpool Marathons.  my Current times in training are 5k 21 mins 10k 47 mins 10 miles 1hr 22.

Your times particularly the 5k are fine  but It appears that there is a tail off on the longer tuns and endurance is your issue not speed and I would suggest that you probably need to do more of your longer runs to build the endurance which will then reduce the times (and weight)

• It's really interesting that you ask the muscle/fat question because I've always been told that where you carry you upper body wieght (muscle/fat) makes little difference when it comes to long distance running. I'd be interested to know how much of a part it plays and why if that's not the case? For me, it's a bit of both - I do wieght train but also like to overindulge!

Thanks for sharing those times, very interesting and much closer to my times than my 12 stone colleagues!!

The plan is to start upping the pace over the longer distances but I don't train enough to improve. I'm running more recently though as doing the GSR in a few weeks so I'll use this time to up my game - once I've done it I may go back to my lazy ways image