Starting Triathalon

Hi guys

I'm looking at starting triathalons, i have never done one before but its something ive always fancied doing and think i may be alright at. 

I am thinking of the Liverpool Sprint Tri in July 2013.

I run and cycle quite a lot. I have run 'fun races' upto half marathon, with a best time of 1hr28. As for cycling I do quite a bit, since i was 16 ive been into it in a pretty relaxed way just social rides. Last summer i started training with a club on chain gangs which average between 18 and 24 miles per hour depending who shows up and this summer i went to france for 4 weeks in which we did around 2000 miles.

The main problem is swimming, i have my 100m badge and thats about as far as it goes. I dont even know if i would remember how to do front crawl any more. 

Any advice that you have would be very useful! 

Cheers! 

Comments

• well havent you answered your own post - your ok at running and biking but crap at swimming, just like most of us, you want to do a sprint and have earmarked liverpool sprint, its no good saying on this forum that you do a sub 1:30 half for fun and can average 24mph on a chain gang, most of us cant do that, so we should be asking you for advice - havent you read any posts on here image 

• Well no, I have only been a member for around 30 minutes and thought for some strange reason that this is where you are supposed to post to ask for advice? How strange hey! 

If you re-read the post i make it clear that im pretty happy with my running and cycling but worried about swimming and asking for advice on how to get started. 

So before you come up with any more smart a** comments please read the post properly next time.