Top tips required for the cold weather crew

Does anyone else find it harder work running in the winter months compared to in the summer? My running kit isn't that much heavier - a jacket and a long sleeve base layer compared with just a short sleeved one and full leggings compared with capris. 

I've been running for about 18 months and have built up my distance sensibly over that time.  Generally speaking I go out at least twice a week, sometimes 3 times.  If I run twice a week then I substitute my 3rd session for a High Intensity Interval Training Fitness Class - not an easy option: I didn't realise there were that many squats in the world!

One of my weekly runs is about 9.25 miles and the other runs are about 6.5 miles.  Both routes are hilly/ undulating, but generally road based.

I'd be really interested to hear of any top tips from fellow runners who also find it more tiring when they run in winter compared with in the summer.  Any thoughts?

Comments

• Lady if your struggling give yourself a good warmup indoors before you set out with some stretching. Unless it's very windy I normally find running in the winter a lot nicer than summer as it's not as hot and sweety. image 

• I prefer running in the winter.   Lower heart rate for one.    I dont get sweaty or sweety!

• Lady

Maybe you could try doing a run with just the long sleeved base layer, and not the jacket?

I used to be guilty of massively overdressing for winter running, and I regularly see people with way too many clothes on. I think you should be cold when you first step out of the house, feel a little chilly for the first mile or so, and be nice and comfortable after about 2 miles.

Cake - trying to lure in Ladies with sweets is bad forum etiquetteimage

• Gilets are great for this kind of temperature. I've not gone to jackets yet as it hasnt been that cold round here.