Advice needed on Compression Tights

Hi,

I'm new to compression tights. I've a pair of medium and a pair of large Under Armour ColdGear tights.  But my question is.... how do I know how tight to go?

I got the ColdGear stuff as I'm competing in www.toughmudder.co.uk on Saturday and I need something to keep me warm (rather than needing the compression all that much).

Now these say they keep you warm, but never hot. I've been for a short run (tapering now) in the mediums. They are very tight on my calves, but not uncomfortable. However, I was hot and sweating after just a mile. And it's about 4 deg C outside. I had a tshirt on top.  Does tghis suggest they may be too tight?

When I have them on, the feeling in my legs can only be described as instant warmth in my muscles. A little like putting deep heat on. Is that normal with compression tights?

The larger pair feel fairly tight, but I don't get the instant warmth from them and they have a bit of slack in the back of the knees.

I'm worried if I wear the tighter pair that I may end up cutting off the circulation. But then, I wore them for over half an hour and I didnt get any numbness or anything. Essentially, I just don't want to get half way around tough mudder and wish I'd gone with the slacker ones.  But then, it's going to be absolutely freezing. Maybe it's a good thing they seem to make me hot/sweaty?

I know its very hard to describe how tight they should be, but any advice would be greately appreciated. As you can tell, I'm very unsure what to do!

If it helps (don't ask why) the medium pair are the "Action" ColdGear, and the larger are the "Evo" ColdGear.

Comments

• Thanks for your reply, although not very helpful.

With Under Armour being the official Tough Mudder attire I'm not imaging I'll be the only person wearing them. And if I am, I'm not fussed. They'll stop me chafing when I'm wet, which is a other reason I wanted them.

Hopefully someone will be able to give me some constructive sizing help!