Training Plan for 1st Marathon

Hi, I've entered my 1st marathon (Richmond Park) for May next year and looking for around for a training plan to follow and would love some help as I think I'm beginning to confuse myself! I've been running for 4 years doing 5km and 10km races and just completed my 1st half mararthon in October with a time of 1 hr and 59 secs. I followed a Matt Roberts training plan for this which really worked for me as I enjoyed the training and finished with the time I aimed for. I can't find his marathon training plan.

Looking at marathon training plans I've found a few which look good but was wondering if there was anyone with experience of these might be able to help me as they differ a little.

I've looked at the RW Garmin ready marathon schedule for sub 4.30 but not sure if this will be a little too difficult? I've running between 15 - 20 miles a week at the moment. I've also looked at Hal Higdon novice 2 training plan which looks similar but with only 1 run over 20 miles. Would this be enough? I'm not setting a time goal for my marathon but I understand you need to be thinking about your race pace when training so was thinking around 4hrs 30.

Alternatively does anyone have a good marathon training plan for a first time marathoner at my ability? I've sure there are lots of threads asking for this but the more I look the more confused I get.  Any help would be very much appreciated.

Comments

• jenfjenf ✭✭✭

I followed RW ultimate marathon plan for 4.30... it worked for me! 

• Hi Jenf

Is that the same training plan as the garmin ready one - I can't access the ultimate mararthon plans as they are for RW subscribers only.  I was thinking the RW one looked like the one I would more likely follow.

Thanks for replying image