Keeping the gas on!!!

Hi,

I am suffering with what I hope is a common problem.

I'm new to running (jogging) and find that I can go a couple of minuets and then I just want to stop and walk. I have no strong reason to stop (not strictly true see my Runners Knee post) and I'm not out of breath or anything, I just can't keep going, I simply give up, then hate myself for doing it, walk a little, then get even upset and start again. All good for a while but then it's because I gave up the first time the second isn't as bad and so it continues. 

Any suggestions, other than mental therapy.

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

Walk/run strategies are used by many ultrarunners completing in 50m+ events, so don't knock yourself for the odd walking break.

Are you using a stopwatch or any other training tool when you run?  If you are, instead of thinking about running the whole distance, just think about running for say 5 mins without stopping. When you've managed 5 mins, make the target 6 mins without stopping, then 7 mins without stopping ... until you've built up to completing the whole distance without stopping.  By breaking down the task into achievable chunk, its much easier than looking at the complete challenge.

If you want to add a bit more structure, then you probably want to look at some of the starter plans like C25K which do tend to include walking breaks.

• I have struggled with the same thing and still do on the odd occasion. I just try to have songs in my head or concentrate on something other than stopping.

• As a beginner there is nothing wrong with stopping and walking before running again - you are already doing more than you were before - as you get fitter you'll run further and faster - and wonder what the fuss was about!!! One thought though are you trying to run to fast - slow down and you'll go further for longer.

And remember to enjoy it - it is supposed to be fun.