iPhone vs GPS watch

Hello,

I've been running for a couple months. I am using Endomondo on my iPhone with spotify.

Could someone tell me if it is worth investing in a GPS watch?  What are the benefits over the iPhone other than it is on your wrist and weight?

Thanks and sorry if it is a dummy question.

Dave.

Comments

• Yeh I am a gadget freak thanks. Certainly appreciate the sarcasm. Infact I might buy two watches and still carry my iphone, just because I can!

If you have nothing of interest to contribute, say nothing!

• BeetleBeetle ✭✭✭

Never mind NW4`s helpful comments. There`s always one d*ck hanging around.

Advantages of GPS systems: more accurate usually; easier to check whilst running; the better ones give a pace readout which some find useful; can be used in wet and foul weather. Basically - can do everything an I phone can do but better.

• Dave - I have a garmin watch and HRM. Nice piece of kit and give you plenty of numbers re your performance. Garmin are also meant to have the best GPS signal I believe. I'm finding mine really useful in my marathon preperation as I'm following a training plan and have to work in different HR zones etc, the garmin gives me everything I need. And I also carry my iPhone to listen to music sometimes !

Nick = nob
  • I use my android Sony Xperia to track my runs - it does what I need and tells me how far/fast I'm going, gives me spoken indications of my pace/distance covered/etc and also shuffles my play lists for me...

I'm pretty positive that GPS watches, being specifically designed for the job, ARE more accurate but I think the phone apps are accurate enough for the average runner.

Plus, if one day I'm a bit slower than I expect, I just blame the phoneimage

• The advantage is that no one can ring me on my Garmin...not yet anyway.