Change training plan or stick with old that worked????

I'm looking for advice from anyone that has changed a plan for positive results (or negative).

London 2013 will only be my 3rd marathon, so i am still a novice when it comes to running. I ran my first marathon in April 2012 (Fort William) after following no plan and just running when i could and whatever i could...and my long runs got longer and longer until i was at 22 miles. I finished that marathon in 3:49:15 and was delighted to get under 4 hours. My next marathon was in october there (dublin) and i decided for some reason (can't honestly remeber why) to follow the Hal Higdon Advanced 2 marathon plan. I felt great the whole way through training and confident on the starting line of getting just under 3:30...and was again delighted to finish in 3:16:00.

So my next marathon is in April and i am stuck with 'WHAT PLAN TO FOLLOW'??image

Do i stick with Higdon and just increase my pace so that i can maybe get near 3 hours...or do i choose another plan?? (i have purchased 'Advanced Marathoning' by Pfitzinger and Douglas to read and see if their plan is better)

Any feedback is welcome!!

Comments

• Interesting question.  I can speak from personal experience because I used the very same HH plan for my debut marathon.  You'll know that it is a very straightforward plan, which is one of the things that I like about it, and I tended to add a tempo run into the midweek, but otherwise stuck very much to easy pace and "race pace" running.