Slightly sore Achillies tendon

I've never had this problem before, but I have had a dodgy knee for years before I took up running.  Naturally, the knee was the first thing to give me problems and after much frustration with it, physio and so on, I decided to get a knee support.  Knee problems: gone - barely a whisper, which I was delighted with.

However, I have now noticed a slightly sore achillies tendon during running, that itsn't going away afterwards.  Could the knee support somehow be causing this and either way, is it OK to run with a slightly sore achillies?  The support has to be fairly tight in order not to slip down - could that be having an effect?  It'll be damn annoying to solve one problem, only for the solution to bring about another problem! 

Thanks in advance. image

Comments

• I can only say that I've been wearing a knee support for several years now without ever having had any achillies problems so I'd be surprised if yours was leading to issues somewhere else.In my case I'm sure there's no longer any need for the support but I prefer to wear it anyway "just in case".

• How do I know if it's OK to run on it?  I don't want to find out the 'hard way' - if I need to rest it, I will, but if I can get out there then I'd like that.  I've just sorted out the knee annoyance after all!

• Well, it seems better now, so I'll rest it this week and give it a try next week. image

• Its possible the support has slightly altered your kinematics at the knee when running (by changing angle of flexion / extension or rotation at the knee) - same effect as taping or strapping a joint by altering propriceptive feedback as well as physically limiting movement.   Virtually impossble to say exactly what but doesn't really matter anyway.

Changing the way the knee moves (even slightly) means position of foot strike may have altered (multply that over '000s of foot strikes) creating a different tension on the achilles tendon which is why its complaining now.