HADD training plan

Comments

• KeirKeir ✭✭✭

Nice run Andy. That is an impressive solo 10k. Was that at 80%? Did you run to HR or feel? Did you have any rests between the miles? 

How are the quads Brian?

Going to don the rain coat for my LSR in 1hrs time. Going to do the clubs core / stretching session afterwards. As it is based at the track I am tempted to spend the first hour doing the 2400m test (130bpm/140/150/160/170) with 90sec rec and see what pace it comes out with. Despite the wind it might be useful to have some base data so I can measure my progression in the future. 

• I've been HADDing now for about 2 months. I've not been following it quite as methodically as some of you, but i have noticed a general increase in my pace for "slow" runs at an easy effort level. I've been very gradually increasing my weekly distance, still only low compared to many here, but i managed 32 last week and will complete about 36 this week barring injury, which has been (fingers crossed) so far avoided, probably because of the low intensity.

At the end of Sept/start of Oct I was doing all my runs around 11min/mile or slower, trying to keep my HR below 145-150 (and struggling with that). Now, running at the same effort I've noticed the pace has drifted to ~10min/mi, with the HR staying around the same 145-150 mark. The only faster run i've done is one Parkrun, and I plan to do another this weekend, then one more in a couple of weeks (as my timetable allows) just to psychologically reassure myself that I can actually run faster than my "easy" pace.

I plan to continue this approach until the mid/end of Dec, and I think it will have done me good and put me in a reasonable position to start my marathon training around xmas.

• Brian- I didn't really know how much drift to expect to be honest as it was the first one but next time I'm thinking maybe 50-60mins (8-10mile)