Refuelling during a run?

I'm quite new to running (recently completed my first 10k image )...normally i don't refuel/drink during my runs unless its very hot. however, i have just entered a half marathon (eek) and was thinking that i probably need to start thinking about taking some sort of drink/gels or food with me for longer runs...just wondering how often i should be looking to drink/eat on a longer run? i realise that it probably differs from person to person- but some general advice would be useful!

Comments

• You shouldn't need any extra food or energy on a half marathon.

Drinking is up to you - but even then you shouldn't need much. A swig every now or then should suffice.

Even a gel takes 20 minutes to get into your system - solid food longer so you'd have to plan ahead anyway.
  • thanks for the reply image i read an article in womens running magazine about half marathons and it said to experiment with refuelling before the race- but you reckon a few small drinks (of water?) would be sufficient? its so confusing for beginners! image

• Well done on completing your first 10k, what was your time? Hope it is the first of many for you!

I entered my first hm in September and found that I really benefited, albeit perhaps only psychologically, from eating a couple of jelly babies after 3, 6 and 9 miles. This also gave me a yardstick too, a small carrot to dangle in front of myself!

I ran carrying a small hand held water bottle and I liked the freedom it gave me to sip as and when rather than relying on drink stations.

I tried gels but the ones I tried made me feel sick, they didn't taste good to me, but e be ruined has different preferences here. Try a few different ideas, gels, isotonic drinks, water, sweets and see what works for you. Then stick with your chosen combo for a few long runs and remember the golden rule, don't try anything for the first time on race day!

Good luck for the hm, when is it? Do you have a goal in mind?