Running in cold weather with asthma

I'm fairly new to running, having started about 5 months ago aged nealy 40 (and being 2 stone overweight). However now the weather's turning colder I'm struggling to do the 10k distances I like because my ashtma gets bad and I find I'm struggling to breathe. 5k isn't too bad, but even then my chest is tightening, especially on inclines.

Does anyone have any tips for coping with asthma and the cold weather. I take my reliever inhaler before I set off, but is ther anything else I can do, or is it just a case of my lungs getting used to it.

Comments

• Hi Susan and welcome to the forum

Like you, I suffer from severe asthma in the cold weather and very often have to use the treadmills in the gym instead.

But when I have run outdoors in the cold, I have found that walking for 5-10 minutes before starting to run helps my lungs get accustomed to the cold air.  Also I find it helps to inhale slightly warmer air, so I run with a buff or a scarf over my mouth

Hope that helps image

• I'm fine if I'm doing a long slow run but if I'm going to be doing a fast training session I really need at least s half hour warm up of slow jogging before I start running faster, otherwise my chest just tightens up straight away no matter whether I've used my blue inhaler beforehand or not.

Might be worth seeing an asthma nurse for a review. At mine this year I grumbled a bit about how it was holding back my training and was given a different preventer to try and it's made a big difference.
  • T RexT Rex ✭✭✭

Agree about getting the right preventer.  Is your asthma under control, Susan?

Like you I am affected by cold weather, and never get asthma symptoms in the summer.