Jobsworth ?

2»

Comments

• So either they're stupid because they're going at busy times or they're second-class citizens and shouldn't be getting in the way of more important people like the users of this forum! Some of the attitudes on here are amazing.

• I didn't say they were stupid.

• Pensioners havent got time to be clogging up supermarkets and busses, they're too busy putting on rock concerts and charging youngsters ??400 a time for the pleasure of watching themimage
  • I'm a student and had been to do my shopping at Asda in Nottingham the other week. I got on the tram with 3 heavy bags of shopping. The conductor came up to me and I got my wallet out to pay. I was 20p short of the £1.90 single fare, so he made me get off and walk. Fair enough, rules are rules. I'm not going to argue with him.

Why should the rule for pensioners be different? The idea of setting a time limit for pensioners is so that people going to work can get on public transport. The pensioners have the rest of the day to shop.

Another thing that annoys me are pensioners in mobility scooters who almost mow you down, then scowl at you as if it's your fault for walking on the pavement.

• cougie wrote (see)
    Is it any different from Osborne travelling first class when he didn't have the ticket.

I don't think it's a jobs worth situation. The guy is doing what he's paid to do.

Osbourne paid the increased fare when asked to. This pensioner refused to pay.

• What about the fact that she was limping and had a walking stick ? Obviously she might carry it around and limp to try and gain a sympathy vote, for all I know she might pull this trick every day. If she genuinely needed the walking stick would that have any influence on your decision to throw her off the bus if she didn't pay or let her have a 'free' ride ?