Is Advanced Marathoning by P&D a good book for a first timer?

I am training for my first marathon. I was a total newbie back in May but I am up to 30-38 miles per week over the last 7 weeks. I was wondering if Advanced Marathoning by P&D would be a good book for me to read. The title makes it sound like it is more for experienced people.

Comments

• Depends on how much you want to learn about running/training really. I read it before my third and wished I had read it for my second as it made me understand what I was trying to achieve in training with the different types of workout.
    For your first I wouldn't say it is essential, you can quite happily follow a training plan and run a successful marathon - you are up to a reasonable mileage already. I'm guessing you are already following a training plan? In which case stick to it, run your marathon and if you enjoy it and have an appetite for more then read on!
    It is not just for experienced people BTW and the training plans are good but maybe not best to switch mid training.

• Hi Jeremy, thanks.

Yes I am following a plan which I am really enjoying. However, P&D wouldn't be 'switching' as such because I started my plan WAY early image I still have about 20 weeks to my marathon. 

I think my current plan is much safer since it is 1 tempo run per week, 1 shorter run, 1 mid week longish run and 1 long run on the weekend. I think I would go faster with P&D but would also risk injury perhaps sine relatively speaking I am still a new runner i guess.

• Hi, Based on your current mileage it should be fine. The smallest schedule is 33-55 miles at its start to peak mileage. However the most benefit will come from the the chapters before the schedules.

Well done and good luck !! 

Ps do no harm to harm a down/reduced week or two to allow your body to recover/rest before you start the schedues in time for spring marathon !!