Rubbish at eating properly!

I have started to feel tired and am unable to concentrate towards the end of my day recently since the start of term (I am a secondary school teacher).  Unfortunately I know my diet has a large part to play in this.  I currently run 35-40 miles a week across the evenings and at the weekends.

During the week I get up at 5am for work and need to eat as soon as I get up.  I usually have a large bowl of cereal and 2-3 glasses of water.  Teaching at the moment is very busy with lots of exams and coursework going on so I do not get time in the middle of the day to eat - kids are always in at lunchtimes for coursework catchup, so I grab handfuls of nuts/segments of fruit bit by bit throughout the afternoon from 11:30ish as I get the chance.  School finishes at 3:30 but I run when I get home (approx 6pm) and find that if I have anything the size of a sandwich after 1ish, it upsets my stomach and I don't run as well later on.  My stomach aches by this point and I find it hard to concentrate for long.  I get home, run, shower and then have tea at about 8-8:30ish although by this point I am often no longer hungry.

I know I need to eat larger meals in the middle of the day and more regularly, does anybody have any tips to achieve this around my busy job without eating so late it upsets my stomach?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• RicFRicF ✭✭✭

I just graze on plain bagels. I can keep them in my pockets and just grab a bite whenever. I'll go through 7 or 8 during the day.

🙂

• Hi moo,

I would try to incorporate more protein in your diet, it will help you satiate your hunger. A good example would be to have eggs for breakfast (poached or scrambled with toast) at lunch a great option would be a salad with lean protein plus a small amount of carbs. Studies have shown that eating this meal at lunch will prevent your afternoon energy dip! The hard thing is to plan in advance - as it seems you are time deprived whilst at work!