What pace should I aim at for easy/slow/tempo runs

Hi

Im what you might call a self-taught runner.   Ive got down to 42 min for a 10k, simply by doing lots of 10k ish distances, on road or treadmill.     Im now struggling to make further improvements.

If I was targetting say 40 min for 10k,  what speed/pace should I be aiming for when doing tempo, easy, slow runs etc?  Ive never really followed a training plan before , and every plan Ive been reading seems to revolve around these different speeds.

Thanks very much.

Jamie

Comments

• Ooooh. For a 40min 10K it'd be good to see you building up to a weekly long slow run at an easy pace of perhaps 8:00 pace per mile over 12 miles. Conversational pace....

I'd imagine a tempo run would build up to 5 miles at say 6:40-6:45 pace.

But I'm a great believer in lower distance race pace time trials. When I cracked 40 mins for 10k, the real bread and butter of the training was working up to running 4 miles at race pace (6:24 per mile). Adrenaline of race day should push the extra 2.2 miles out of you.

• Stevie  GStevie G ✭✭✭✭

Jamie 147, it's flawed logic to just pick a time you want to run, and then work out time slots for those. That'd make you work outside of your current fitness, and risk injury and pushig too hard.

Instead, google the McMillan race calculator. Whack your current exact pb in, and it'll calculate what time slots for the different zones.

It's a little fast on the easy pace, but is a decen guide.

• .Seb.Seb ✭✭✭

who's McMillan anyway?

41:20 10k runner, according to Daniels running formula says around 8:14 easy pace, 6:50 tempo, 93secs per 400m for intervals.

• Hi Jamie,