Snow is here.. time to spot those houses with poor roof insulation

This is a pet subject of mine...  here are some I spotted this morning..

/members/images/98627/Gallery/IMG_1602.JPG

/members/images/98627/Gallery/IMG_1603.JPG

/members/images/98627/Gallery/IMG_1604.JPG

/members/images/98627/Gallery/IMG_1605.JPG

Comments

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

I think maybe you have too much time on your hands!

• BookyBooky ✭✭✭

I find those pictures strangely compelling... 

• I'm a building surveyor...  I see houses every day and this issue of melting snow on roofs is always a good one to illustrate to people that money is literally being wasted through the roof.

Its very disappointing to see so many houses with roof conversions that have this problem.  Solid insulation boards used in conversions are really good products but so so often the workmanship in their installation is poor.  I see this over and over and also generally with modern houses.  Its such an easy bit of DIY to tackle, and not even very expensive.  Some energy companies give the stuff away for free!

• Wilkie, that's exactly what I thought, lol, still, an interesting thread. image

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

I did notice the houses with poor insulation from the train this morning, but I didn't take any photos.

• Our local council was doing free loft and cavity wall insulation last year so it seemed silly not to take them up on the offer.  Sadly no snow so I cant see if its working...

• As you said, on the whole it seems to be those with loft conversions that have the problem.