Vote for sills

Please vote for sills in the Good for Age category of the Asics Target 26.2 competition

I'm pretty new to running, having taken it up in 2011 after hanging up my football boots. Signing up for my local half marathon (Reading), was the catalist for everything to come, and after running 1:32:44 I set myself the target of running a sub 40min 10k. I duly acomplished this in Thame with a sprint for the line and a 39:59 finish! For the 2012 Reading HM I set myself the goal of for breaking 90 mins and I finished in 88:01.

All the above has been acheived with very little sophistication, 2-3 similar sessions a week with a weekly mileage of 15-25 miles, and I have been fortunate enough to be able to acheive some great times. 

With the London Marathon always having been on the list of things to do, and it getting increasingly difficult to get a place, my next goal is to run a GFA qualifying time (sub 3:10). Whilst my 10k and HM times indicate this is acheivable, I know that training for the full 26.2 is a completely different beast.

With it being my first marathon & going for a pretty quick time, I know that there's a steep learning curve ahead. I'm hoping that with the guidance of the Target 26.2 team, I can acheive my goals of running a 3 hour marathon in Paris and qualifying for London and I'm excited about the prospect of sharing these experiences with everyone on these forums.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and feel free to post any questions you may have.

Rich

Comments

• Hi Sills...you definitely have some natural talent there........

you have rarely posted in the forumbefore the competition...........what stopped you image

• Thanks seern nos