Vote - Malcs

I feel incredibly lucky to have made it through to the voting stage of the Asics Target 26.2 competition. RW have asked us to start a thread and introduce ourselves so here goes.

I’m a Scottish born rugby player, living in England with a Welsh wife and two children of confused nationality.

I started running about 5 years ago partly to keep fit for rugby but mainly because my wife started and I was scared she’d be fitter than meimage. She has since got her own back by starting triathlons as she knows I can’t swim! (not quite true, I’m happy with a gentle breaststroke but my chin needs to be at least two inches above the water or I get a panic attack ).

I’m in the On a Plateau group but I see from my fellow candidates that they have just bundled all the bald guys into one place (Shady Ady excepted of course).

I work from home and juggle work around school runs, feeding times and ferrying the little fellas about. I’m a software developer so for most of the day I only move from the wrist down (steady!) - running has got me moving and out into the fresh air and I can’t think what I’d do without it.

You’ll see that I have a set myself a huge challenge. Knocking 30mins off a marathon time is no easy feat. However, it has been done and my shorter race times would suggest that running 8 minute miles is well within my capabilities.

Like most of the candidates I’m a new contributor to the forums but I’ve been posting regularly on the 26.2 thread since bootcamp was announced and have really enjoyed it. I will definitely be sharing everything I learn should I make it through. And if I don't, I've discovered a new place to go for advice, motivation or just a bit of banter.

We've been told to expect some in depth probing so I'm bracing myself... image

On a Plateau - vote Malcs

Comments