Vote Caro in PB Hunter

/members/images/471967/Gallery/Caro_&_Tiger_0.jpg

Hi everyone I’m Caroline and I’m new to the RW forums. I came across the Asics Target 26.2 competition last year whilst searching for tips on a marathon training program and I was very impressed (and nervous for the final 5) as I followed their training highlights and video clips posted on the website and how they ALL achieved their goals in Paris.

I’ve always been competitive in water sports and having recently discovered that I can run, I’ve been very encouraged and motivated with how my times have come down in correlation to the hard work that I’ve put in. I never (in a million years) believed that I could run and I never used to enjoy running because every time I tried to make it round the block I’d literally feel like a “fish out of water” gasping for air because as a swimmer I was more at home in the water than on dry land.

When my coach lost interest in me when I peaked at age 10 in the pool and told me I’d become fat, I turned my hand to other water sports finding it was easier to float in the water than to run!  I tried running many times to keep my weight down but it was such a struggle mentally and I battled with stitches every time I ran so I’ve always associated running with an endless negative cycle of dieting, binging, and exercising and failing to look as slim as a super model!!

Going through list of water sports I discovered triathlons 12 years ago and after years of falling apart in the final run leg as all the RUNNERS came flying past me, I finally came to the realisation, with the help of a few comments from other people, that I just wasn’t built or born to be a runner. I came very close to giving up but something rose up inside of me wanting to prove people wrong.