VOTE Shady_Ady

Christmas came early at the start of the week and I was fortunate enough to reach the voting stage of Asics Target 26.2, in the 'On a Plateau' category.

/members/images/403074/Gallery/asicstarget262_logofinal_0.jpg

Before continuing, I think it would be rude not to introduce myself.

At 31 years old, I have been running now for 8 years, The first few marathons I ran, I was extremely embarrassed to find myself finishing behind almost all of the fancy dressed athletes, just under 5 hours.

I've improved dramatically since then, running over 15 marathons and now have a PB of 3 hrs 44 mins, which I achieved in the Boston Marathon in 2009. I know I have the ability to go faster, my 16 mile PB  of 2hrs 02 mins suggesting this. My target for Paris, if successful, would be 3hrs 30mins, which has been a dream of mine since starting to run seriously.

Why should you vote for me? I've never been blessed with the perfect body for running. Everything I've accomplished has been through hard-work and graft, which I hope can encourage other runners like me. I don't lack motivation or the desire to succeed. Last year I walked 1160 miles for charity from Lands End to John o'Groats, in memory of family members who had recently lost their battle to cancer. This journey is often the driving force for my runs, especially on dark, wet, evenings when my brain tries to convince me to stay indoors. I know I'd give this shot every last ounce of energy I have.

Running keeps me sane. It gives me a feel good factor that I've become addicted to. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity. After previously working overseas in international development in the developing world, I get a lot of satisfaction from helping others and would share every failure, success and snippet of information to hopefully help others break reach their marathon goals.

Feel free to fire your questions away. All are welcome. Before you ask.......yes I like marmite......and my favourite cheese is Stilton.