Report on my 42 mile running experience!

Hi all,

I've done a series of reports on a 42 mile event I did last month, the Keswick to Barrow in Cumbria.

The report is on my blog here and discusses how the event went (for me) and lessons learnt. I'm no expert on extreme events, so my thoughts and views maybe a bit novice for some. I'd be interested in feedback and tips if any spring to mind.

Thanks - keep running!, 

Scrib.

http://scribsblog.wordpress.com

Comments

• Interesting stuff I like the stuff that worked! Will remember these (or read your blog again) as I train for my next challenge. Thanks and i'll be keeping an eye on your blog for my hints ans tips!
  • Thanks Matt. I started the blog because people kept asking me how I went from 14 stone to 11 stone. I thought  "I need to write this down" in the hope of helping, or at least inspiring other people.

My blog has a notification sign up option (top right hand side) so you'll get an email when I add posts. RSS feeds are also supported.

• Hi all,

Looking to run this next May, Scribs, really interesting blog thank you. Any tips on pre-event training? I'm running a marathon 3 weeks before so I'm hoping that this is good preparation and gives the body adequate time to recover! 

Rich. 

• Ooh! Always on the lookout for interesting new blogs to read! Thanks Scrib! image

• Hi Rich. 

I didn't do the K to B last year due to injury (IT band) which I've now recovered from, so I might see you there in 2013. image

Doing a marathon before the K to B is excellant training and three weeks is a perfect amount of time to recover. I'd probably think about taking a three to five days off after the marathon, depending on how you feel. Then take it easy for the next few days and build up again and try and maintain your fitness levels. Its a bit of a balancing act to be honest.