Goals for a newbie?

I'm a newbie looking to complete my first sprint tri on May 02 in Milton Keynes. I'm planning my training and want to set myself a meaningful goal rather than just finishing it!

I'm reasonably fit (regularly run 60+ mins) but am a slow swimmer and cant remember the last time I rode my bike! Could somebody please suggest some times that would a reasonable goal to aim for - total time and perhaps times for each event that would be reasonably challenging and give me something to aim for.
I'm planning 6 training sessions per week between now and then with about 30-60 mins max available for most and a little more time on weekends when necessary.
Any comments appreciated.

Comments

• bp - I did my first sprint tri this year on the back of little training but had been running and biking regularly and swimming was my problem area. did a few swims in advance and set myself a goal of 20 mins max for this which was about right as it was a very heavy swell in the sea. I would concentrate on your weaker events first but don't neglect the run if this is your strong event - it may help pull you up the field. I had a very good bike, and a below average run - probably too cautious
    run.

best advice - go out and enjoy the experience, learn from it (it's very odd running after biking), and then decide if you want to do another and then work on a proper schedule.

btw - my total time was just under 1:30 - I would hope with proper training to aim for 1:15 to 1:20 this year.

good luck
  • Fat Buddha

Thanks for your comments and sharing your experiences. I tried a run after a lengthy bike ride a few years ago and remember the distinctly odd feeling when my legs didn't want to do as they were told!