Advice on my first marathon training.

Hi

I have entered the Edinburgh marathon next May,and this will be my first.

I am currently running 4 miles 4 times a week and between 7-9 miles after Golf on a sunday.

I have been given some advice that I will need to increase my base running before I start my scheduled training in February. What more would you kind people advise me of doing? I live in a small town and whichever route I take; the first 1. mile is uphill. I think my training could and in time be a lot better.

When I am at work ( Nights for 12 hours for 7 days once a month) I run on a treadmill for 5 nights.Treadmill runs will be anything from Fat burners to speed intervals.

I would love to be able to complete a full marathon in approx 4:30.

So any suggestions on how far I am behind schedule or is my running ok for now?

Kind regards

Gary

Comments

• Gary,

I'm no expert either....  but I'd say that you your current schedule seems decent.  5 runs a week totalling 25 miles... that's a pretty decent base from which to start your programme in February.  As ToffeeRunner says... run a HM sometime... but I guess one is in you programme.

Maybe you could do a bit of variety.  Instead of 4x4 mile runs... try 2X4,  a six miler, and a 3-4K faster run once a week.  Of course, if your sunday run could be nearer 9 than 7, that would be good.   But if you're relatively new to running... then 5 days a week might be asking a bit much. You could perhaps cut out a day, to let your running muscles recover a bit... and replace it with a bit of gym work once a week.... rowing, cycling, weithts etc.

• Hi Guys

I agree with you both regarding the Half Marathon, I know it will be in the schedule somewhere Run Wales, but I think I will run a event rather than go out on my own.

I have ran Half Marathons before,( But not for atleast two years,) So basically what you are saying then; is I have to mix it up a little.