RW smart coach.........will this be enough

Hi

Apologies if this has been done to death already but I have looked at smart coach for a trainng plan for VLM but am really unsure as to whether it will be enough so thought i would ask the experts.

I have been running on off for 2 years and if I am honest really only 'properly ( for me)' for the last 6 months. I have a 5k pb 26.10 , 10 k pb (split in HM of 58.10) and HM 2.02- these were achieved on 3 runs a week and at best a maximum mileage of 16 miles a week.I have been building up to a base of 22-25 miles per week ready to follow an official programme in the new year and have recently introduced a session of speedwork. I can train 4 days per week but SC programme suggests only 3:

Monday easy run starting week 1 at 6 miles rising to 9 as a maximum

Wednesday- speedwork alternating temp and long intervals again rising from 6 miles to 9

Saturday- Long slow run incorporating:

1x 10 mile

2x 12 mile

2x 13 mile

1x 14 mile

2x 16 mile

1x 18 mile

3x 20 mile

1x 8mile

1x 6 mile

Do you think this a sensible plan and will it be enough for me to enjoy the experience or should I look elsewhere- if so where do you suggest? Whilst i keep saying I just want to finish I would really like to post a time 4.30 ish. I am 44 female bmi 22 with no health issues. 

Many thanks in advance

Comments

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

What makes you think a mixed bag of forum users has more expertise than the people who put Smartcoach schedules together? image

I've used their schedules, and they've worked very well for me.

• good question image, guess I wanted reassurance as most of the numerous plans I have looked at are based on 4-5 runs per week. Its good to know they have worked for you I dont know anyone who has used them.

thanks for replying

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭