Running Motivation

I just wanted to find out a bit more information about why all you lovely people have taken up running? Whether that is as a child, teenager, young adult or later in life?

I have been running for about 4 years now as a lot of my work colleagues are runners and it's a good way for me to keep fit. I never exercised when I was a child/teenager and only took it up when I was about 23 so I don't find it particuarly easy and I often find it hard to understand a "runners" psyche. The sheer love of running that will allow them to go out running for all lengths of times, running in various terrains and in all kinds of weather. The slightest bit of rain and it's my perfect excuse not to go out!

I work with a lot of runners who seem to be obsessed by it and I struggle to understand something that is so alien to me. So I was just wondered if you could give me more insight into what makes you grab your running shoes and pound the streets?!

Do those of you who truly love running find the less enthusiastic runners irritating? Do the less than enthusiastic runners find it hard to relate to "proper runners" in the same way I do?

Any tips and advice to take running to the next level?

Thanks!

Comments

• I don't get irritated by less enthustiastic runners! I started running as I needed to increase fitness and lose some weight. Now I run because I love it! I keep pushing myself because I want to go faster, but I'd be quite happy just knocking out 40-50 slow miles a week forever. The odd run is tough, or draining, but generally I love being out in all weathers.

It's hard to give tips on how to take it to the next level without knowing what level you're at in terms of miles per week and race times. I would suggest that if there's an excuse not to get out, use it as an excuse to just run for 5 minutes. once you're out you'll probably run further. The hardest step is the one out of the front door.