Swimming - is this slow a pace actually beneficial?

Hi, I am focussed on running at the moment (rather than triathlon) but I have hurt my leg so I took to the pool. I am a newbie swimmer and so in order to be able to swim for any length of time i have to go relatively slowly (or i get out of breath and sink).

I swam 85 lengths of a 25m pool in 1hr 10 mins (front crawl). I know this is super slow. However, what I would like to know is whether this type of swimming actually has benefits in terms of fat burning and improving endurance, or was i going so slow that i might as well have gone for a long walk. I don't want to waste an hour of my time if i am going too slow for it to be good for me in any significant kind of way. 

Also, I used the swimming calorie calculator at http://www.swimmingcalculator.com/swim_calories_calculator.php to work out how many calories I burned. I know it is not precise, I am just looking for a guideline number to work out how much pizza I can eat tonight image It claims I burned 1218 calories (I am 168 lbs by the way). Now this number seems excessively high to me. What do you think?

Comments

• If I swim that far I get hungry by the end, no idea on calories used but as the water is denser than air, more resistance means its likely to burn calories at a reasonable rate.

If you want to get good at triathlon you need to be swimming weekly at least as it is such a technical sport. Practicising slowly but with good form is good for you. It will also give a good cardio workout so the lungs will not feel so unfit when you return to running.

I swim slower than you and am quite happy that it is doing me some good, so take heart. Eat your normal size pizza tonight, not more.

• i would take the calories burned with a large pinch of salt...........but yes you are going to burning a signifivant amount and would probably aid recovery more than a long walk

• Thanks.