Where to run?

Hi everyone. I'm new to running and wanted to know are you allowed to run across fields? There are loads of green spaces and farms where I live in Medway, but I'm unsure if your are allowed to run across them. Any help would be appreciated

Comments

• I am no expert but there is a "right to roam" in the UK which means that you can wander over any common land, moor land, mountain, heath or forestry commission land. However Agricultural land is a bit different and the best thing to do is to check an up to date OS map to see what rules apply. Otherwise, stick to footpaths and public right of ways. 

My triathlon blog

• Look to see if there are any stiles if so then you know it's okimage
  • Best just to stick to marked footpaths across the fields and downs. There are plenty around.  Just get an OS map... spend a day exploring to find 2 or 3 nice runs.

Have fun image

• TimeaJTimeaJ ✭✭✭

Most farm and land owners in my area clearly mark what is classed as "private" where you cannot trespass, however, if you are unsure and you want to regularly run accross the area, maybe it is best to speak to the owner if you can, out of courtesy. If it is only a one off, I would just look around to make sure there is no one around (esp. dogs) and run across as quickly as possible, preferably without damaging any plants etc.

• John - there is also 'access land' that you are allowed to walk on despite sometimes appearing to look like private land. Have a look at this website - http://www.naturalengland.org.uk/ourwork/access/openaccess/default.aspx

• John, if you have an ipad or iPhone you could try an app called outside. This is free os maps. Also, I use bing maps as there is a feature to view the map as os.
  • Theres plenty of decent apps around that can help you out with routes, ive found myself checking out some paths before attempting to run them or even seeing what others may have run in the area.