Plan needed for sub 22 min 5k

Hi there,

I am new to runner's world and this is my first post.

I am a 37 year old male and after 3 months of running 2 or 3 times a week, I managed to run 23.01 in my local Park Run. However, I would like a plan to take me up a level (I thought 22 mins would be a good target). I have been taking it fairly easy as I suffered shin splints earlier in the year when I pushed my mileage up too quickly. I was thinking of maybe a 3 times a week plan with a bit of interval stuff thrown in. I use a Garmin 305 but have not been able to find anything suitable to download yet.

Any advice would be most welcome.

Rich

Comments

• the very best thing you can do to train for this is to work out the pace for a 22 minute 5 k ,its about 4.24 pace per km and run at that or quicker ,i dont think there is much value in getting bogged down in finding specific plans to run specific times ,all the info you need is in the time you want over the distance you run ,whatever that pace is train  at that pace ,i think plans with different paces and different types of runs are only effective over longer distances

• Hi Richard.   A 23 minute 5K means you're definitely running.

There are thousands of 5K plans you can find on the internet.  I don't think you'll find many that come close to agreeing with daniel's view.

As I say, you can search and find a programme that fits you... but one simple principle to understand is that (IMO) you need to work on two aspects. 1... endurance  and 2....speed.  There are some nuances that you'll see in the programmes, but in general terms, it's best not to work on them both at the same time.

Get some nice long miles in your legs with weekend running.... build up to at least 8, preferably 10 miles. This gives you the basic aerobic endurance, and strength, that you need to do a great 5K.