Halstead marathon

Comments

• unlucky david i did see the final five, good luck to them and will be following all their progress.

im in a bit of a rut at the moment i dont know what to do for the new years marathon training. some advise would be good image

im currently at 4 days a week training after work (working 8-5:30 sometimes 6). so dont get out until say half 6/7. Not the most demanding job (im a car mechanic) but on my feet for atleast 8 hours in the day.

my question is....shall i start later running after eating, or early running before work before breakfast? i dabbled with the idea of early running but that means more showering, which seems like a waste of water in my opinion!

also its absolutely chucking it here in sunny great dunmow (essex)

would be nice to meet you at halstead aswellimage

• Hi guys,

just thought I'd join this thread as I too have entered the Halstead marathon. Jason, I see you run for GFDR and have been doing x/country racing? I run for Mid Essex Casuals and am really looking forward to your clubs race this coming Sunday at Stebbing.

• DS2DS2 ✭✭✭

Welcome to our little thread, Leighton!

Have you run the Halstead marathon before?

Jason - I used to run quite late in the evenings years ago at about 9 at night but it was hard to switch off afterwards. I think if I was you I'd think about straight after work before dinner. Might be worth having a snack mid-afternoon on that basis.

It's quite a difficult time of year. Once you get into the New Year and you can see the marathon on the horizon you'll find it easier to get out there. It's worth looking at the RW schedules when they come out. Your times are promising. What are you aiming to do the marathon in?

• hello leighton pull up a chair as they say,

have you run halstead before?

yes ive been a member for 3 months now and havent looked back since. yes been in 3 XC races so far and loved how fun they are. really enjoyed little baddow even if it was a bit brutal.