First Marathon - Pace Advice

Hi all,

I've been running for about two years, gradually increasing my training and have seen improving PBs in races.  My current 10k is 43:33 and my HM is 1:43:30.

I've bitten the bullet and decided to enter a marathon next year, with training starting at the beginning of Jan.  I'm trying to work out what would be a sensible, yet competitive target time based on my experience to date.  A lot of advice says your only goal on a first marathon should be to finish, yet if I use a run calculator such as McMillan it suggests I could make 3:37:49 - which I would obviously be thrilled with!

My initial goal was just to get sub 4hrs but would love to run as well as I can, given I'm not sure if I'm likely to be able to devote the necessary training time to run another one.  Should I pace myself during training to get the 3:37, or just aim for 4hrs?  Have people paced themselves to McMillan calculations before and found them reasonable?  Or can I adjust my pacing throughout training if I feel it is going well?

Grateful for any advice - thanks

GMC

Comments

• TeknikTeknik ✭✭✭

Hi GMC

It took me 7 attempts to convert my 1:43 to a sub4.  I don't know who the sampled runners were for McM but I would guess they're half my age and 2 stone lighter.

There was a thread on here which asked RW runners to input their half v mara times.  The mean for male first timers was 2.29x the half for a full mara.  So a sub4 is possible, and I would go with that...

My biggest piece of advice is to run your long runs slow - not at goal pace.  Your body needs to adapt physiologically and those changes to slow twitch muscles only happen at low intensities...

• Thanks Tekniklaus that's helpful to know.  I did wonder if the McM times were a bit ambitious and didn't want to set myself up for a fall.