Running Mileage

Hey in about 4 months time I'm going to be running the London Marathon and I'm about to start on a 4 month training programme leading up to the event. The thing is with most of these programmes they say you should have some running under your belt (like 20mpw or so) before you start following the programme properly and I've not really done that. I'm at university studying, however I've participated in sports requiring cardio such as football (mostly twice a week, at the very least once) and badminton (same frequency as footie) and I'm consider myself good in terms of fitness (in terms of mileage, I can complete several miles at a decent pace without breaking much sweat). The advice they give about running for some time before your programme, I feel applies to proper beginners with not so much cardiovascular fitness or am I wrong? And will it still be ok to get into the training programme, follow it properly?

And sorry if this is in the wrong section, I'm a newbie here lol. 

Comments

• I think you're wrong. Whilst you sound as if you're fit - your legs arent used to running so it could be quite a harsh start to the plan.

Is there a plan one down from that ?

The key to doing a successful marathon is not getting injured and being consistent with your training. You may be running a risk of injury jumping in like this.

Good luck with the training.
  • Exactly as cougie says- you are probably at high risk of injurung yourself if you are quite fit generally, but not used to running regularly- if you ramp up the mileage quickly, you will probably suffer an overuse injury to some part of your legs after about 6 weeks.

Probably the most important thing, as you are suddenly doing more mileage, is to do it all as slow as you can- don't do any speed stuff until you are really used to the regular runs, and don't be afraid to walk /run some of the longer runs, if it stops you getting injured.