Hollywood or Bust!

Comments

• If you live near a bakers, Bear, they sometimes will allow you to buy fresh yeast.

As a student I bought fresh yeast from a guy who ran a micro brewery. I think it made the bread better. Also, make sure you are really kneading the dough. It likes a goodx firm handling...
  • Yup it's a standard loaf tin.  It did taste jolly nice - I could happily have eaten the loat.  Didn't feel massively dense like you might expect if it was meant to rise a lot more.  Then again it didn't look like the pictures.

It rose so well when I left it to rise so I don't think it's the yeast unless it died off somewhere between that and cooking - could it get too hot to work?  I did leave it in front of the fire so maybe so.

I might well have another go tomorrow image

• They do 'enhance' the pictures
  • And take them using a loaf cooked in a smaller tin to make it look bigger

• E mmyE mmy ✭✭✭
    I don't put them into a tin to rise. Did you leave it to rise in a warm place? I use morrissons yeast and its perfect.
  • i fancy making bread now.might ask steve to kniock that machine off his mother...

Can anyobne recommend a really good roasting tin.one that can go on gas mark 9 if needed and still leaves all the non stick on the tin not on the food

• hmmm not sure Seren - all mine say not above 230 which I believe is under gas mark 9.

I had a second go at the bread - managed to stop it dropping so much after the second rising bit so the loaf is about 50% higher.  It's delicious - but still nowhere near the shop bought ones but I'd take it any day (except it goes off to quickly and I'm single so no-one to share it with most of the time).  Slightly burnt on top - then again I'm using the top oven as my bottom one is busted.  Might try dropping the temp a bit until I get round to getting a new cooker image

I'm going to get fat trying all the scrummy sounding recipes image

• E mmyE mmy ✭✭✭