distance/time - am I being realistic?

Hi, I've been running for a few months now, after a break of a few years.  I do parkrun every week (PB 35:48) and treadmill for 30 mins twice a week at the gym.  I'd really like to head for a) a much faster time for 5k and b) trying out a 10k.

Any suggestions on how best to speed up for 5k? and what sort of time should I be able to do before taking part in 10k events?  It's really irritating me that I used to do under 30 mins for 5k and just don't seem to get close since I restarted (although I've taken nearly 4 mins off my time since I started parkrun in October!).

I'm thinking that to do better at 5k I need to train at longer distances and my endurance will increase - is that right? I can now run the whole 5k, at least, without walking breaks.

Advice gratefully received image

Comments

• You do not need to be able to do a 5k in a certain time to do a 10k event. Just increase your long run once a week by no more than 10% until you are at 10k distance.

To speed up for a 5k, have you tried interval running? ie running a bit faster than you usually do for very short periods like 1 minute with a minute or two rest at a slower speed in between. Best to get more info on this and find something that works for you but this could easily be done on your treadmill runs.

Don't work on speed and endurance in one run.

Good Luck!

• I wouldn't bother about doing any intervals or speed work for now as to do them properley you would need to warm up for a mile or two first and then cool down afterwards......

for now i would just start running some more.building it up.,... I would start by doing a run outdoors as this is where you will be doing the 5k and the 10k.............slowly build it up from 30 mins then to 50 and then 60 mins.............