Total Immersion swimming

D0MD0M ✭✭✭

I`ve had a couple of colds over the last three weeks, so have been doing some virtual training by watching swim coaching/technique stuff on youtube.  One that stands out is Total Immersion swimming.  Anybody agree or disagree with his methods/theories.  Has made me realise i`m drag myself through the water, without much thought for streamlining. I am looking to concentrate on Tri`s with open water swimming of 1500m and above, so he makes alot of sense.

Comments

• I'm a crap swimmer.but wetsuit swimming is different to pool swimming..........the wetsuit makes you kindof streamlines.......( in a beached whale sort of way)image

• H0NKH0NK ✭✭✭

wouldnt say i disagree with the TI methods as it helped me a lot when I started learning front crawl, but i now prefer the swim smooth methods which can also be looked at online.

To me the swim swim smooth methods seem less prescriptive than total immersion, more about adapting the way you swim to what suits you best.

• I made definite improvements with a combination of TI and Swim Smooth. The trick, I found, was to focus on one aspect in each session: body rotation; hand position (fingers lower than wrist, which is lower than elbow); 'anchoring' the hand, and pushing through at the end of the stroke.

• I think all the different methods of swimming have some value but at the end of the day you need to find a style that suits you.  By all means follow the TI or Swim Smooth techniques to teach you how to swim, but once you feel reasonably competent you need to develop a style that fits in with your own body mechanics and what you want to achieve.

There are different styles for sprinting (up to about 400m), long distance (up to about 5k) and endurance swimming.  Also different techniques for pool, fresh water and salt water, and for wetsuit or non-wetsuit.