Losing fat around waist/stomach

Hello,

I've been running for a couple of years now, but this summer I was in hospital, I lost lots of weight and lots of my fitness too. I have generally always struggled with weight (very underweight as a child/teenager) and found it difficult to gain weight. I'm running again now, and I've managed to put the weight back on. But I don't think I've done it correctly. and instead of putting it on healthily I'm getting a bit wider around the middle.

I am in no way overweight, I'm 5'10" and about 10st, but whereas before I went into hopsital I was mostly lean muscle and very little fat, I now have more fat around my middle.

My question is, what exercises are best for losing fat specifically around your middle? I'm not interested in losing weight at all, I just know how unhealthy it is to carry fat around your tummy and I'd like to cut back on it.

That turned out to be a longer post than I anticipated, but I appreciate any suggestions!

Lucy x

Comments

• Thanks for the advice, but what's "spot reducing"?

I was told that crunches only strengthen the stomach muscles and don't actually get rid of any fat, is that not true then?

Lucy

• Spot reducing means picking an area of your body where you have fat (belly typically being the most common) and trying to lose weight from that area only.

Unfortunately the only real way to get rid of this is to lose weight in general, so if you want the belly to go you need to accept you need to lose some weight. 

Did you do anything other than run before?  Personally if you want to get rid of the belly fat I would recommend losing the weight whilst doing weight lifting / bodyweight exercises if you want to develop that lean look again.

I realise thats probably not the answer you were looking for. image

• LV - sadly your age, genetics and that fact that you are female will decide where your body lays it's fat down.