Should my recovering alcoholic brother in law take up running?

My brother in law is as above. I have been so pleased with my own running progress over the last year, that I have been extolling the virtues of running to all and sundry. My brother in law has now asked me how I started (NHS Coices C25K) Well, I gave him the information and then wondered whether I did the right thing. My thinking was that excercise is always a good thing but is it so good with a recovering alcoholic??

Comments

• Huh?

Why wouldn't it be? I can't think of any reason why any able bodied person shouldn't start running. I can't see any reason why an alchy can't start running either, there's at least two current threads on here about that now, "on the wagon for January" and some other alchy thread I forget the name.

• PhilPubPhilPub ✭✭✭

I'm no expert but he's no doubt given his body a bit of abuse, so the best person to visit first is probably his GP for a proper once-over.  If there are no particular risks from partaking in rigorous exercise (starting off very slowly, obviously) I'd say go for it.  Running's a pretty good diversion for someone with an addictive personality.  Good luck to him.

• a psychologist friend once told me that therapists sometimes discourage recovering addicts (heroin in his case) from taking up running because they develop unhealthy levels of addiction to running, as they did with drugs.

but i told him her she was talking bollocks.

• Dude - Him/her ? Have way through the op ??

• * Half way through the op ?? 

• E mmyE mmy ✭✭✭
    the dude abides wrote (see)

a psychologist friend once told me that therapists sometimes discourage recovering addicts (heroin in his case) from taking up running because they develop unhealthy levels of addiction to running, as they did with drugs.

but i told him her she was talking bollocks.