Difference between "pain" and an injury reminding you it is still there

Hi all,

First post on here!

I have been running again for 18 months after giving up when I started Uni/drinking etc 15 years ago.  I ramped my training up to a 1h44min finish in the Great North Run in Sept 12 and was generally working very well towards a charity run in the London Marathon in April 13 as well as aiming for under 1h40 in two preparation half marathons. 

This has all come crashing down around me after a groin muscle problem. I have always suffered from slight stiffness in my upper thighs/groin muscles but this has disappeared with any other post-run stiffness. I also sometimes get twinges in my groin/down inner leg when doing speed work but backing off gets rid of it.  However, after 3 weeks holiday in November I pushed it is bit too hard on return and developed an ongoing muscle problem (pain, pulling and perpetual stiffness).

I have been to a Physio and have been assured it is only muscle inflammation and stiffness, not a tear or ligament issue. She advised slowly easing back into exercise, but I should not push through pain.

The definition of pain is my question.

The muscles in my groin generate a mild stiffness/pull whenever I put any strain on them but I wouldn't say it hurts, I am just aware of it.  I would certainly never go beyond what I would consider painful, however, what do people generally do when they can feel an injury pulling or being slightly weak/stiff? Should I be completely pull/stiffness etc free when building my pace/distance back up?

I am using Ibroprofen cream and heat pads on the area post exercise. I have also spoken to my PT about groin specific stretches and some more glute/hip/hammy stretch and strengthen exercises. I have built back up to 10k (around the 5min/km mark) but this generated a bit too much stiffness (again, I wouldn't really call it pain) so am taking 2 weeks off running to see what happens.

Any advice gratefully received.

Paul