8 miles in 60 mins - help?!

Hi guys, I'm a complete newbie to RW and running in general pretty much - could really do with some help and advice from the crowd. 

In a nutshell I need to be able to run at 8 mph for at least 60 mins by the beginning of August 2013 (posted on 5th January 2013). Currently can run at 6mph all day but can't seem to crack/figure out how to maintain 7-8mph for longer than 10 mins or so.

I'm 23, otherwise in good health with a decent diet - any tips/plans would be very gratefully received!

Cheers

Comments

• Just take a Half marathon plan and use that.

Do steady runs at a chatty pace.

Then some shorter runs nearer race pace.

Then one or two runs a week with speedwork so you run faster than you need but for a shorter distance. And then work on building speed or reps or distance up.
  • go and do the lliswerry 8 race at the end of january............totaly flat and a great tester for you to run againsgt others............you will then know exactly where you are for that distance and can see how much progress you have to make

• Hi Goose,

At 23, there are few limits to what you can achieve. If you are doing 21-30 miles per week I'm sure you'll crack 8 miles in one hour very soon. The trick is even pacing. 7:30 min miles are not terribly quick, but they can feel tough if you set out too fast from the outset.

Your weight and height would be useful to know...........

• Hi guys, thanks for all your responses!

Cougie - with regard to speedwork, the military-based plan I'm using at the moment has me running 30 min fartlek sessions, building up to 60 mins over a period of months, and interval training (again increasing in length and reps over time) - does that sound about right?

Seren - cheers for the tip but having looked at the times for last year, I can tell you where I'd be: lastimage something to work towards though, thanks.