Help - 1.5 Mile Run For Police Training in 15 Minutes

Hi All

I am new to this to be gentle!!

I am currently training (not very well) for joining the police in a few months time.  I passed the initial bleep test at level 6.7. I am struggling a bit with the running side of things I am more a plodder than a runner I am 5ft and feel like I am running 100 to the dozen when I run so any tips would be greatly appreciated.  I also have two young children to take into account and can only train 3 times a week 4 at a push!

At the moment I can run approx 16-17 minutes - slow I know (this is quite a hilly run) and I need to get to 15 minutes at the very least.

All help and advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

Have a search through the forum for advice on running the 1.5 mile test, as its a common question from army recruits.

In summary, you need to run further than 1.5 miles at a slower pace (e.g. 3 miles at 12 min/mile if you want to run 1.5m at 10 min/mile) for most of your runs and then concentrate on speed for one run a week.  

• Most of the Policemen and Women I see couldn't raise a gallop if their donuts caught fire, so I shouldn't be too concerned about it. I agree with Stutyr though, to achieve this you really need to be able to comfortably run/jog for over 20 minutes before you start to look for speed.

• An easy way of adding speed when the time comes would be to turn your usual route into a hilly fartlek run - once into a comfortable pace look to mildly push the pace on the uphill sections, easing off when the hill levels out or goes downhill. If the hills are long break them up in 15-20 seconds efforts. Have the last few minutes of your run for a cool down 

• EKGO wrote (see)